Latest News


Name of Department:


Year of Establishment:


Courses run by the department:

Name of Course     

(i)   B.A.

About The Department :

The Department of Sanskrit, an undergraduate department in the Faculty of Arts, was established in 1952. Ever since, the department has been nurturing students with competence, conscience and intellect. The department has always strived to promote the Sanskrit language which holds an integral position in our Indian culture.
Former members of the department were Dr. S.P. Dwivedi (1961-1966) and Dr. Devi Dayal Tripathi (1965-1978). Previously, Dr. Jai Shankar Mishra (1966-2000) and Dr. D.D. Shukla (1974-2007) served the department for more than thirty years. Presently, the department has two permanent members: Dr. Namita Nigam, who joined in 2006, functioning as the department in-charge and Dr. Kiran Singh Sengar. Both of them are currently designated as Associate Professor. Dr. Namita Nigam is a M.A. in Sanskrit Literature. She has pursued her Ph.D. in the same field and has also qualified J.R.F. Dr. Kiran Singh Sengar is a M.A. in Sanskrit Literature and has pursued her Ph.D. in the same discipline. The department focuses on the all-round development of the students. The aim of the department is to create an environment that caters to the needs of its students.
The department has a well organised departmental library for the guidance and help of the students. Internet facility is also available. Various academic activities are organised from time to time to enhance the overall development of the students. Guest lectures by distinguished Professors are arranged to invigorate the students and enhance their field of knowledge. These activities help immensely, in the holistic development of the students. Students of the department have continuously shown remarkable dedication towards academics and extra-curricular activities and have brought many laurels to the department.