Latest News


Name of Department:


Year of Establishment:


Courses run by the department:

Name of Course     

(i)   B. Com.

(ii)  B.Com. (Honours)

(iii)  M. Com. (Pure Commerce)

About The Department :

The faculty of commerce has been one of the best faculty which has always attracted the students from Lucknow city and the adjoining areas and has been able to maintain its reputation since 1954 the year of the beginning of the commerce faculty. Shri Jagdamba Sharan Mishra who was respectfully called “Dada Ji”was the first faculty member who nurtured this faculty with his endeavor. During the late 1960’s, the department of Commerce got the status of the faculty of commerce with the creation of three departments. In the year 1981 under the special scheme of Government of India, a COSHIP plan was introduced. In the 1985 the total number of seats in B.Com classes were increased to 880 by the University of Lucknow. In 1986 the two year degree course was replaced by three year degree course by the University of Lucknow in view of the new education policy initiated by the government of India. In the year 1996, with the sincere efforts and guidance of Dr.H.N.Dwivedi,the then principal, started first UGC sponsored vocational coursein the faculty of commerce with an approved strength 30 students.The course is duly approved by the University of Lucknow. This course has generated ample employment in the organizations engaged in International business. In the year 1998, with the incessant efforts of the then secretary manager of the college managing committee Sri K.N.Mishra, the two post graduate courses namely M.Com (Applied Economics) was started by the college. The faculty of commerce under the leadership of the young Principal Prof. S.D.Sharma started M.Com(Commerce) in self–finance mode with the approved 60 seats and B.Com (self-finance) with 200 seats in the year 2007. All the above courses were approved by the University. The principal of the college Prof.S.D.Sharma is pioneer to take imitative to conceive and start the various job oriented certificate programmes in the faculty of commerce. Several course were launched by the faculty of commerce including Add-on-certificate course in in Computerized Accounting and Computer Applicationsin the year 2008, Add-on course in Marketing and Sales Management in 2014, certificate course in foreign Languages(French and German) duly approved by the respective embassy courses were started in the year 2014, three months certificate course in GST in 2017. It is important to mention that the students like Shri Syed Ali (Olympian in Hockey), Prof. J.N.Shukla (Proctor Lucknow University), ToshChaturvedi(National Swimmer), Shri Manik Roy (AGM Oriental Bank), Shri K. Chandra (Regional Manager and Financial Advisor of UP state Bridge Corporation), Shri Gurmeet Singh (ChiefCost Accounting Officer of U P Electricity Board), Shri Mukul Joshi (Joint Director Bureau of Public Enterprises), Dr.Raag Deepak Srivastava (Assistant Commissioner Income Tax),Professor Rakesh Chandra (VC, Kashi Vidyapeeth), Dr. Vijay Pratap Singh (Chief Export Manager of Karma Industries), Shri PrafullaTripathi(a leading Actor), Shri Rajeev Yadav (Manager in Union Bank), Sri VipulMudgal(Consultant France Telecom London) were the product of this faculty. There is an unending list of the top students of the specialty which cannot be noted down but only few of them are quoted here. In the year 2016 Miss Arpita Mishra of M.Com secured the best student award of commerce faculty. In the year 2017 student of M.ComApplied Economics MeghaValecha secure 6 gold medals from the Lucknow University. Chhanmeetkaur was a student of M.Com Applied Economics in the year 2017 and was awarded “Certificate of Merit” twice for securing highest marks and now in Germany for higher studies. The faculty of commerce is being headed by Dr.A.K.Awasthi as in-charge faculty. There are three departments named as Department of commerce, Department of Applied Economics and the Department of Business Administration and being headed by Dr.A.K.Awasthi, Dr.Arun Kumar Mishra and Dr.K.K.Shukla respectively.