Latest News


Name of Department:


Year of Establishment:


Courses run by the department:

Name of Course     

(i)    B.Ed

About The Department :

The Department of B.Ed, was established in 1972 due to the efforts made by Dr. M.P. Shukla, Head, Department of Education with an intake of sixty seats for boys. During the initial years, Dr. M.P. Shukla was the head of both the departments, viz., the Department of Education and Department of B.Ed. Initially the department was granted temporary affiliation. The very next year, i.e., in 1973 the department was granted permanent affiliation by the University of Lucknow, Lucknow. The department was granted recognition by the NCTE in 1997. Dr. R.M. Mishra, Shri S.C. Pandey and Dr. L.B. Bajpai were appointed in the department in 1974 and served in the department until their retirement in 2000, 2006 and 2008, respectively. Shri L.S. Chaturvedi joined in the department in 1977 and remained till 1999. After the retirement of Dr. M.P. Shukla in 1977, Dr. T.P. Gupta became the Head of both the departments, i.e., Education and B.Ed. However, after the untimely demise of Dr. T.P. Gupta in 1996, Dr. R.M. Mishra took the charge of the department. Dr. S.C. Pandey succeeded Dr. Mishra in 2000. Dr. M. Verma served in the department from 1999 to 2001, when he was appointed as a Reader in the Faculty of Education, University of Lucknow, Lucknow. Dr. Ram Vilas Sharma, joined the department in 2000 after getting transferred from Kalakankar, and remained till 2007. Another feather was added in the department in 2006 when the department also started another B.Ed. programme in distance mode as the study centre 27108 was established by Indira Gandhi National Open University, New Delhi due to the colossal efforts of Prof. S.D. Sharma, Principal of the college. 100 seats were allotted by IGNOU to the centre. Dr. L.B. Bajpai was appointed the first Programme In-charge of the study centre. Dr. L.B. Bajpai also headed the department from 2006 to 2008. Dr. Ram Bachan joined in the department as assistant professor in 2000 and became the head in 2008. Dr. Payal Gupta had joined the department in 2008 after getting transfer. Dr. Sushma Mishra joined in 2013, Dr. Tirmal Singh in 2014, and Dr. Archana Sharma and Dr. Perveen Kumar in 2015 after getting transfer. Dr. Payal Gupta became the head of the department in 2016 after the retirement of Dr. Ram Bachan. Another faculty Dr. Mani Joshi joined in the department in 2017 after transfer. At present, the department posses six permanent learned faculty members. The department organised a national seminar in 2007 on Curriculum Review. The Vice President of the NCTE and Dr. Krishan Mohan Tripathi, Director, Research Wing, Directorate of Higher Education were among the important dignitaries who graced the seminar. The Department organised another two-days national seminar on Making of Inclusive Society: Fostering Adaptation for Persons with Disability (Divyangjan) on March 25-26, 2017. The seminar was sponsored by the Department of Empowerment of Persons with Disabilities (Divyangjan), Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment, Government of India, New Delhi. It also received financial assistance from the State Bank of India. Prof. Harikesh Singh, Vice-chancellor, Jai Prakash Narain University, Chhapra, Bihar was the keynote speaker in the seminar. Prof. R.C. Patel from M. S. University, Baroda, Prof. Sushma Sharma from University of Kurukshetra, Prof. K. K. Agarwal (retd.) from King George Medical University, Lucknow, Prof. U. C. Vashistha from University of Lucknow, Prof. Navleen Kaur from University of Punjab, Chandigarh, Prof. Atul Joshi from Kumayun University, Nainital, Shri S.K. Srivastava, Member Secretary, Rehabilitation Council of India, New Delhi, Ms. Kamini Srivastava, a divyang and well known officer of the Government of Uttar Pradesh, Shri Govind Singh Rawat, DGM (B & O), State Bank of India, Lucknow, Dr. Ratnesh Kumar, former Director, Institute of Orthopedically Handicapped, Kolkata, Prof. Ravikant, Vice-chancellor, King George Medical University, Lucknow inter alia addressed the audience in the seminar as resource persons. The seminar was attended by a large number of faculty members, school teachers, research scholars, students as well as participants from administration and social organisations, including divyangjan from various walks of life. People graduated from the department are serving in various walks of life. Some of them have been able to achieve remarkable career in their academic and professional life. For example, Prof. Anil Shukla, who is presently serving as the Vice-chancellor of MJP Rohilkhand University, Bareilly completed his B.Ed. from the department. Before becoming vice-chancellor he has served in the NCTE as well as professor and head in the faculty of education. Prof. Nagendra Kumar, who is presently serving in the Faculty of Education, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi, Dr. Gaurav Rao, Assistant Professor, Department of Education, CSJM University, Kanpur, Mr. Amit Kumar, Education Officer, University Grants Commission, New Delhi, Mr. Sunil Kumar, Amity University, Mr. Ajit Pandey, Librarian, Shri Jai Narain PG College, Lucknow and Mr. Shalabh, ARC Field Officer, Secretariat Lucknow, are among other notable alumni of the department. Majority of our alumni are serving in various schools and colleges as teachers, principals and education officers. An important development took place in the department in 2015 when one year B.Ed. programme was converted into a two-year programme as devised by the NCTE and followed by the University of Lucknow, Lucknow. In the new pattern the department was given a unit of 50 students. In 2015-16, Female students were admitted in B.Ed. The department regularly organises various academic and co-curricular activities. Guest lecture by eminent academicians like Prof. Balraj Chauhan, Vice-chancellor, RML National Law University, Lucknow and Prof. U.C. Vashishtha, Head and Dean, Faculty of Education have been organised by the department in recent years. Student seminars are organised every year in the department. Engagement in community development programmes like ‘literacy programme’, each one teach one, campus cleaning, plantation, blood donation, SUPW, exposure in various cultural activities, personality development activities such as debate, group discussion, extempore, brain storming, screening of movies, yoga and meditation, excursion and visit to educational institutions and places of historical importance, museums and science exhibition, use of ICT based technologies in teaching, arts and crafts, etc. constitute important components of our pedagogy. Since, its establishment year till now, department is continuously engaged in providing qualitative teacher education. Entire faculty members are dedicated and committed towards shaping, forming and moulding the teacher educators to be beacons of light in our society.